Graduate research

Image: Ka-Jin Chan, 4th Year Engineering Student, CECS

The Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) and the Master of Philosophy (MPhil) are research degrees, awarded based on the submission and subsequent independent assessment of a thesis that describes original research undertaken by the author while enrolled as a student in a relevant degree program at ANU. These are called Higher Degree by Research (HDR) awards. HDR students have the opportunity to access a broad range of specialist courses, attend seminars, conferences and summer schools, and to contribute to various undergraduate teaching activities.

The Master of Philosophy (MPhil) is typically eighteen months to two years full-time and the Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) is typically three to four years full-time. There is a possibility that study may be approved on a part-time basis in which case the duration is doubled. This is not common, and is not encouraged. Students seeking part-time options will need to seek special approval from the College. Part-time study is not available to international students or scholarship holders.

There are three steps in the HDR application process.

  1. Take a self assessment to determine your suitability for admission/scholarship.
  2. Complete the pre-application process and find a supervisor that is willing to support your application.
  3. Complete a formal ANU application.

Updated:  19 March 2014 / Responsible Officer:  JavaScript must be enabled to display this email address. / Page Contact:  JavaScript must be enabled to display this email address. / Powered by: Snorkel 1.4